Handoff is an AI teammate for the whole job: estimating, project management, invoicing, payments and homeowner financing. MyRemodelQuote does one thing, quoting a remodel from what you saw on site, and prices it from your numbers alone. Which is right depends on whether you want software to run your business or to price it.
Their facts last checked 2026-09-20 · by Tyson McKay
We build MyRemodelQuote, so this is not a neutral review: we have an interest in you choosing ours. What we can offer instead of neutrality is checkability. Every claim about the other product is quoted from their own site with the date we read it, anything they do not state is marked unknown rather than absent, and there is a section below on what they do better than us.
These are not the same kind of product, and the price similarity hides that. Handoff describes itself as "an AI-native construction management and estimating platform built for residential contractors": it estimates, then runs the project, invoices, takes card and ACH payments, tracks time with geofencing and offers the homeowner financing. MyRemodelQuote stops at the quote. If you want one system for the whole job, this comparison is short and Handoff wins it.
The real decision is where a number comes from. Handoff's pricing is layered, and their own help centre states the order: your custom catalog first, then "Supplier catalogs (if enabled)", then "AI fallback pricing", with costs that "update on a daily basis for every single city in the US". So a Handoff estimate can be priced before you have loaded anything, using supplier data localised to your ZIP code.
MyRemodelQuote has no supplier catalogue and no regional adjustment at all. It ships with nine national-average starter rates, sourced and dated, and they exist to be replaced by your sheet. After that, every dollar on the quote is a number you set. That is a genuine trade-off rather than a win: Handoff's data is real work you do not have to do, and if you have never built a rate card, their default number will be closer to your market than our national one. What you give up is knowing exactly whose number is on the page.
The second difference is what the quote itself looks like. MyRemodelQuote puts Good / Better / Best on every quote on every plan, because the tiered conversation is the product. Handoff offers "up to 5 estimate options in a single proposal", which their own page marks "Scale Plan Exclusive", and Scale starts at $719 per month billed annually. If three finish levels on a kitchen is how you sell, that difference is $570 a month.
The third is how honest the estimate is about itself. MyRemodelQuote labels every line measured, estimated, observed or allowance, caps confidence at medium when there is no LiDAR scan behind a quantity, and takes the room's confidence from its weakest line. Handoff states that its AI "cross-checks every measurement against the plans" and that takeoff summaries flag "plan inconsistencies, missing information, and assumptions made during processing", which is a similar instinct applied to plan sets rather than to photos. Neither publishes an accuracy percentage.
| MyRemodelQuote | Handoff AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | ✓ $149/month, or $49 for the first 30 days | ✓ $119/month billed annually; $149 month-to-month per their help centre |
| Seats at entry price | – 1 estimator + 1 reviewer | ✓ "2 users included" on Flex |
| Free trial | × No free tier. The first 30 days are $49 | ✓ "Start free for 7 days. No credit card required" |
| Commitment | ✓ Monthly, cancel from the Stripe portal | – Pro and Scale are a "12-month commitment"; Flex's term is not stated |
| Prices from your own rates | ✓ Only your rate card, once loaded | ✓ "Your Custom Catalog" takes precedence; Flex is capped at 1 catalog |
| Regional or supplier pricing | × None. Nine national-average starter rates, sourced and dated | ✓ "60M+ SKUs" and ZIP-code pricing, updated daily |
| Good / Better / Best on every quote | ✓ Every plan | – "Up to 5 estimate options", marked Scale-only ($719/month annually) |
| Per-line confidence and basis | ✓ Measured / estimated / observed / allowance on every line | ? Not stated. Takeoff summaries flag assumptions and inconsistencies |
| Capture on site | ✓ Photos, or iPhone LiDAR floor plans on supported Apple devices | ✓ Photos, voice notes, walkthrough mode, plans; MagicPlan integration |
| Plan-set takeoff | – Reads printed dimensions from the plan's text layer | ✓ "AI Takeoffs" on plan sets up to 5,000 sq ft, colour-coded PDF |
| Mobile app | × Web app; LiDAR capture happens on a supported Apple device | ✓ iOS and Android apps |
| Homeowner financing | – A monthly-payment calculator in the quote. Not a lender | ✓ Acorn Finance, "12+ national lenders", up to $100,000, Pro and above |
| Invoicing and payments | × Not built. The output is a branded PDF | ✓ Card and ACH, QuickBooks Online sync, proposal view tracking |
| Project management | × Not built | ✓ Scheduling, subcontractor portal, time tracking with geofencing |
? means their own material does not state it. It is not a claim that the product lacks it: absence from a marketing site is not evidence of absence from a product.
It is a narrower product, and the cases where narrow wins are specific:
Most of the time, if you are shopping for more than a quote:
Is MyRemodelQuote cheaper than Handoff?
Not straightforwardly. Handoff's Flex plan is $119 per month billed annually and includes 2 users; their help centre lists $149 month-to-month. MyRemodelQuote is $149 per month for 1 estimator plus 1 reviewer, with the first 30 days at $49 and no annual commitment. Month to month the two are the same price; on an annual commitment Handoff is cheaper and includes a second user.
Does MyRemodelQuote have supplier pricing or regional costs?
No, and it is not planned. There is no supplier catalogue and no ZIP-level adjustment. MyRemodelQuote ships with nine national-average starter rates, researched from published cost guides and dated on the page, which exist to be replaced by your own sheet. Handoff prices from 60M+ supplier SKUs localised by ZIP code, which is a real advantage if you have not built a rate card.
Which one gives the client options to choose from?
Both can, at different prices. MyRemodelQuote puts Good / Better / Best on every quote on every plan. Handoff's own page describes "up to 5 estimate options in a single proposal" and marks it "Scale Plan Exclusive"; Scale is $719 per month billed annually.
Can either one offer my client financing?
Handoff can. They partner with Acorn Finance, state "12+ national lenders" and loans up to $100,000, and say it is free for contractors, on the Pro plan and above. MyRemodelQuote only shows a monthly payment figure in the quote. It is a calculator, not a lender, and it does not submit an application anywhere.
Does Handoff use my own rates?
Yes, and theirs take a documented back seat to yours. Handoff's help centre sets out the order as your custom catalog, then supplier catalogs if enabled, then AI fallback pricing, and says "This ensures your pricing is always prioritized." The Flex plan is limited to one custom pricing catalog. The difference with MyRemodelQuote is not whether your rates are used, it is whether anything else is.
Do I have to commit for a year?
With MyRemodelQuote, no: it is monthly and you cancel from the Stripe customer portal. With Handoff, their pricing page labels Pro and Scale a "12-month commitment" and shows annual pricing by default; Flex's term is not stated on the page, and their help centre describes a monthly option that "Renews every 30 days" and "Can be canceled at any time".
Every claim about Handoff AI on this page was read on 2026-09-20 from their own site. Handoff's marketing pages carry no last-updated date, so prices were read from the live pricing page on that day; its help centre articles carry their own dates and are cited where used. Prices shown on Handoff's pricing page are annual-billing rates; the monthly figures appear only in their help centre.